St Mary without the Walls, Chester

  • About Us
  • Find Us
  • Contact Us
  • Services and Events
  • Features and Facilities
  • More Info

St Mary’s Without-the-Walls is situated in Handbridge, south of the River Dee, in the historic city of Chester. The present church was built in 1887 to replace the original St Mary’s On-the-Hill, now a heritage centre within the city walls.

St Mary’s is usually open all day for visitors. Please check before travelling as we sometimes need to close the church to prepare for wedding or funeral services.

Parish boundary view Bird's eye view

This space is for a Google Map.

You are seeing this message instead because your browser has not loaded the program code to produce the map.

This could be for a variety of reasons, including:
  • Your browser does not support Javascript;
  • You have turned Javascript off
In addition we are aware of some problems with Internet Explorer which are currently being worked on. Firefox and Chrome show the map correctly.
Revd Paul Dawson
10 Lower Park Road
Queen's Park
Chester
CH4 7HL
(01244) 675199 or (01244) 671202 (Doris Keen: Parish Administrator)

Send an Email

  • Regular Services
  • Other Events
Printer friendly list of events

Sunday

Holy Communion
Every Sunday at 8:00 AM
Storytelling Service
Every first and third Sunday at 9:30 AM for ½ hour
until Sunday 6th September 2015
Family Friendly Coffee
Parish Communion
Every Sunday at 10:30 AM
until Sunday 30th August 2015
Holy Baptism
Every second and fourth Sunday at 12:30 PM
until Sunday 13th September 2015
Ends Sunday 14th June 2015.
Resumes Sunday 12th July 2015
Family Friendly
Evensong
Every first third and fourth Sunday at 6:30 PM
Ends Sunday 26th July 2015.
Resumes Sunday 6th September 2015
Book of Common Prayer
Be Still & Know Service
Every second Sunday at 6:30 PM
Ends Sunday 12th July 2015.
Resumes Sunday 13th September 2015
No service at St Mary's; join Compline at Chester Cathedral
Every fifth Sunday at 6:30 PM

Wednesday

Luncheon Club in the Church Hall
Every Wednesday at 12:00 PM

Thursday

Holy Communion
Every Thursday at 10:00 AM
Ends Thursday 11th June 2015.
Resumes Thursday 25th June 2015
Book of Common Prayer
Printer friendly list of events
Meditation Group
Tuesday 26th May 2015 at 8:00 PM
Julian Meeting
Monday 1st June 2015 at 7:45 PM
Messy Church Planning Meeting
Wednesday 3rd June 2015 at 7:30 PM for 2 hours
Garden Party
Saturday 13th June 2015 at 2:00 PM
Meditation Group
Tuesday 23rd June 2015 at 8:00 PM
Messy Church
Sunday 28th June 2015 at 3:00 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 29th June 2015 at 7:30 PM
Family Day Outing
Saturday 4th July 2015 at 9:00 AM
All Day Event
Church Working Party
Saturday 11th July 2015 at 9:30 AM
PCC Meeting
Monday 20th July 2015 at 7:30 PM
Church Working Party
Saturday 8th August 2015 at 9:30 AM
Church Working Party
Saturday 5th September 2015 at 9:30 AM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 7th September 2015 at 7:30 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 21st September 2015 at 7:30 PM
Harvest Bring/Share Supper
Saturday 3rd October 2015 at 7:00 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 9th November 2015 at 7:30 PM
Craft Fair: Handmade in Handbridge
Saturday 21st November 2015 at 10:00 AM
PCC Meeting
Monday 23rd November 2015 at 7:30 PM
Chester Operatic Society Concert
Friday 4th December 2015 at 7:30 PM
Chester Operatic Society Concert
Saturday 5th December 2015 at 7:30 PM
Jan Modelski Community Orchestra Concert
Saturday 12th December 2015 at 7:00 PM for 2 hours
Chester Bach Singers Concert
Saturday 19th December 2015 at 7:30 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 25th January 2016 at 7:30 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 8th February 2016 at 7:30 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 7th March 2016 at 7:30 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 14th March 2016 at 7:30 PM
Annual Parochial Church Meeting
Sunday 24th April 2016 at 7:30 PM for 1½ hours
Sunday School Youth Group Bell Ringing Regular Choir Regular Book of Common Prayer Services Conservation Area Spire/steeple Floodlighting Stained glass Guidebooks / notes Organ Hall for hire Church Open Wheelchair Access / Ramp Wheelchair accessible toilets Accessible Car parking Hearing / Induction Loop Baby Changing Facilities Visitor Parking Available Foodbank
Bookings

Parish Administrator(01244) 671202

Visit our Church

St Mary’s Without-the-Walls is situated in St Mary’s is usually open all day for visitors. Please check before travelling as we sometimes need to close the church to prepare for wedding or funeral services.

Nurture Courses

 
Other information
A Church Near You ID (venue number): 12578
Built: 1887
Our Patron: The Duke of Westminster
Archdeaconry: CHESTER (591)
Deanery: CHESTER (59102)
Benefice: Ches St Mary (09/070 K)
Parish Legal Name: St. Mary on the Hill, Chester (590025 9/25)
CofE Church Info: (609025 9/25)
Short URL: acny.uk/12578/
QR Code:

The current editor is: St Mary's Webmaster

This page was last updated on Tuesday 7th October 2014
 
 
St Mary without the Walls : Overleigh Road, Chester, Cheshire, CH4 7HL

Other Links

Our Web Site

Calendar of Events

About the Parish

Update this church