St Mary without the Walls, Chester

  • About Us
  • Find Us
  • Contact Us
  • Services and Events
  • Features and Facilities
  • More Info

St Mary’s Without-the-Walls is situated in Handbridge, south of the River Dee, in the historic city of Chester. The present church was built in 1887 to replace the original St Mary’s On-the-Hill, now a heritage centre within the city walls.

St Mary’s is usually open all day for visitors. Please check before travelling as we sometimes need to close the church to prepare for wedding or funeral services.

Parish boundary view Bird's eye view

This space is for a Google Map.

You are seeing this message instead because your browser has not loaded the program code to produce the map.

This could be for a variety of reasons, including:
  • Your browser does not support Javascript;
  • You have turned Javascript off
In addition we are aware of some problems with Internet Explorer which are currently being worked on. Firefox and Chrome show the map correctly.
Revd Paul Dawson
10 Lower Park Road
Queen's Park
Chester
CH4 7HL
(01244) 675199 or (01244) 671202 (Doris Keen: Parish Administrator)

Send an Email

  • Regular Services
  • Other Events
Printer friendly list of events

Sunday

Holy Communion
Every Sunday at 8:00 AM
Storytelling Service
Every first and third Sunday at 9:30 AM for ½ hour
until Sunday 6th September 2015
Family Friendly Coffee
Parish Communion
Every Sunday at 10:30 AM
until Sunday 30th August 2015
Holy Baptism
Every second and fourth Sunday at 12:30 PM
until Sunday 13th September 2015
Family Friendly
Evensong
Every first third and fourth Sunday at 6:30 PM

Ends Sunday 23rd November 2014.
Resumes Sunday 4th January 2015
Book of Common Prayer
Be Still & Know Service
Every second Sunday at 6:30 PM

Resumes Sunday 11th January 2015
No service at St Mary's; join Compline at Chester Cathedral
Every fifth Sunday at 6:30 PM

Resumes Sunday 29th March 2015

Wednesday

Luncheon Club in the Church Hall
Every Wednesday at 12:00 PM

Ends Wednesday 3rd December 2014.
Resumes Wednesday 14th January 2015

Thursday

Holy Communion
Every Thursday at 10:00 AM

Ends Thursday 18th December 2014.
Resumes Thursday 1st January 2015
Book of Common Prayer
Printer friendly list of events
PCC Meeting
Monday 24th November 2014 at 7:30 PM
Meditation Group
Tuesday 25th November 2014 at 8:00 PM
Storytelling Service
Sunday 30th November 2014 at 9:30 AM for ¾ hour
Advent Choral Evensong
Sunday 30th November 2014 at 6:30 PM for 1 hour
Julian Meeting
Monday 1st December 2014 at 7:45 PM
Advent Service at Scout Hut, Westminster Park
Sunday 7th December 2014 at 4:00 PM
Christmas Luncheon Club at Overleigh St Mary's School
Wednesday 10th December 2014 at 12:00 PM
Wedding
Saturday 13th December 2014 at 2:00 PM
Jan Modelski Community Orchestra Concert
Saturday 13th December 2014 at 7:30 PM for 2 hours
Christingle Service with St Lucia Procession
Sunday 14th December 2014 at 4:00 PM
Overleigh St Mary's School Carol Service (FS/Infants)
Tuesday 16th December 2014 at 1:30 PM
Meditation Group
Tuesday 16th December 2014 at 8:00 PM
Overleigh St Mary's Carol Service (Yrs 3 -6)
Wednesday 17th December 2014 at 12:30 PM
Chester Bach Singers Concert
Saturday 20th December 2014 at 7:30 PM
Nine Lessons & Carols
Sunday 21st December 2014 at 6:30 PM
Crib Service
Wednesday 24th December 2014 at 4:00 PM
Midnight Eucharist
Wednesday 24th December 2014 at 11:30 PM
Parish Communion
Thursday 25th December 2014 at 10:30 AM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 26th January 2015 at 7:30 PM
Messy Church
Sunday 1st February 2015 at 3:00 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 9th February 2015 at 7:30 PM
Beetle Drive
Friday 13th February 2015 at 7:30 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 16th March 2015 at 7:30 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 30th March 2015 at 7:30 PM
Annual Parochial Church Meeting
Sunday 19th April 2015 at 7:30 PM
Sunday School Youth Group Bell Ringing Regular Choir Regular Book of Common Prayer Services Conservation Area Spire/steeple Floodlighting Stained glass Guidebooks / notes Organ Hall for hire Church Open Wheelchair Access / Ramp Wheelchair accessible toilets Accessible Car parking Hearing / Induction Loop Baby Changing Facilities Visitor Parking Available Foodbank
Bookings

Parish Administrator(01244) 671202

Visit our Church

St Mary’s Without-the-Walls is situated in St Mary’s is usually open all day for visitors. Please check before travelling as we sometimes need to close the church to prepare for wedding or funeral services.

Nurture Courses

 
Other information
A Church Near You ID (venue number): 12578
Built: 1887
Our Patron: The Duke of Westminster
Archdeaconry: CHESTER (591)
Deanery: CHESTER (59102)
Benefice: Ches St Mary (09/070 K)
Parish Legal Name: St. Mary on the Hill, Chester (590025 9/25)
CofE Church Info: (609025 9/25)
Short URL: acny.uk/12578/
QR Code:

The current editor is: St Mary's Webmaster

 
 
St Mary without the Walls : Overleigh Road, Chester, Cheshire, CH4 7HL

Other Links

Our Web Site

Calendar of Events

About the Parish

Update this church