St Mary without the Walls, Chester

  • About Us
  • Find Us
  • Contact Us
  • Services and Events
  • Features and Facilities
  • More Info

St Mary’s Without-the-Walls is situated in Handbridge, south of the River Dee, in the historic city of Chester. The present church was built in 1887 to replace the original St Mary’s On-the-Hill, now a heritage centre within the city walls.

St Mary’s is usually open all day for visitors. Please check before travelling as we sometimes need to close the church to prepare for wedding or funeral services.

We can't display parish boundaries on this page at the moment. View the map with boundary in Google Maps

This space is for a Google Map.

You are seeing this message instead because your browser has not loaded the program code to produce the map.

This could be for a variety of reasons, including:
  • Your browser does not support Javascript;
  • You have turned Javascript off
In addition we are aware of some problems with Internet Explorer which are currently being worked on. Firefox and Chrome show the map correctly.
Directions to St Mary without the Walls, Chester, CH4 7HL

Walking route Avoid highways

Load map in Google Maps


Revd Paul Dawson
10 Lower Park Road
Queen's Park
Chester
CH4 7HL
Tel: (01244) 675199
  • Regular Services
  • Other Events
Printer friendly list of events

Sunday

No service at St Mary's - join the Taizè service at Chester Cathedral
Every fifth Sunday at
Holy Communion
Every Sunday at 8:00 AM
Parish Communion
Every Sunday at 10:00 AM
Sunday School Coffee Common Worship
Holy Communion
Every first third and fifth Sunday at 11:30 AM
Book of Common Prayer
Holy Baptism
Every second and fourth Sunday at 12:15 PM
Evensong
Every first third and fourth Sunday at 6:30 PM
Book of Common Prayer
Be Still & Know Service
Every second Sunday at 6:30 PM

Thursday

Holy Communion
Every Thursday at 10:00 AM
Book of Common Prayer
Printer friendly list of events
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 28th April 2014 at 7:30 PM
Parish Ministry Team Meeting
Tuesday 29th April 2014 at 10:00 AM
Meditation Group
Tuesday 29th April 2014 at 8:00 PM
Julian Meeting
Monday 5th May 2014 at 7:45 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 12th May 2014 at 7:30 PM
Quiz & Curry Night at Ship Inn, Handbridge
Thursday 15th May 2014 at 7:30 PM for 2 hours
Church Working Party
Saturday 17th May 2014 at 9:30 AM
Deanery Synod
Monday 19th May 2014 at 7:45 PM for 2 hours
Meditation Group
Tuesday 27th May 2014 at 8:00 PM
Wedding
Saturday 31st May 2014 at 1:00 PM
Messy Church
Sunday 8th June 2014 at 3:00 PM
St Mary's Garden Party
Saturday 14th June 2014 at 2:00 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 7th July 2014 at 7:30 PM
Parish Weekend, Rydal Hall near Ambleside
St Mary's Parish Weekend 18 - 20 July
Friday 18th July 2014 at 6:00 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 21st July 2014 at 7:30 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 8th September 2014 at 7:30 PM
Parish Outing
Saturday 13th September 2014 at 9:00 AM
All Day Event
French Evening
Saturday 20th September 2014 at 7:30 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 22nd September 2014 at 7:30 PM
Harvest Bring/Share Supper
Saturday 4th October 2014 at 7:30 PM
Messy Church
Sunday 12th October 2014 at 3:00 PM
Resurrection Choir Concert
Friday 24th October 2014 at 7:30 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 3rd November 2014 at 7:30 PM
Beetle Drive
Friday 7th November 2014 at 7:30 PM
Baptism Tea Party
Sunday 16th November 2014 at 3:00 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 24th November 2014 at 7:30 PM
Chester Bach Singers Concert
Saturday 20th December 2014 at 7:30 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 26th January 2015 at 7:30 PM
Messy Church
Sunday 1st February 2015 at 3:00 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 9th February 2015 at 7:30 PM
PCC Standing Committee
Monday 16th March 2015 at 7:30 PM
PCC Meeting
Monday 30th March 2015 at 7:30 PM
Annual Parochial Church Meeting
Sunday 19th April 2015 at 7:30 PM
Sunday School Youth Group Bell Ringing Regular Choir Regular Book of Common Prayer Services Conservation Area Supports Fairtrade goods Spire/steeple Floodlighting Stained glass Guidebooks / notes Organ Wheelchair Access / Ramp Accessible Car parking Hearing / Induction Loop Visitor Parking Available
Bookings

Mrs Sue Fryer01244 679945

Visit our Church

St Mary’s Without-the-Walls is situated in St Mary’s is usually open all day for visitors. Please check before travelling as we sometimes need to close the church to prepare for wedding or funeral services.

Nurture Courses

 
Other information
A Church Near You ID: 12578
Built: 1887
Our Patron: The Duke of Westminster
Archdeaconry: CHESTER (591)
Deanery: CHESTER (59102)
Benefice: Ches St Mary (09/070 K)
Parish Legal Name: St. Mary on the Hill, Chester (590025 9/25)
CofE Church Info: (609025 9/25)
QR Code:

The current editor is: St Mary's Webmaster

 
 
St Mary without the Walls : Overleigh Road, Chester, Cheshire, CH4 7HL
This long URL is the full search engine friendly link to your page.
This short URL can be used as a quick link to this page on smartphones, email and Twitter etc.
This "QR Code" contains a simplified web address for your church entry. Print it onto envelopes, newsletter, promotions etc. to enable visitors with mobile devices e.g. smartphones to get to your A Church Near You page without having to remember and type the full URL