Church of England Diocese of Blackburn St. Lawrence, Chorley

These events occur regularly throughout the calendar year.

Saturday

Baptisms (Christenings)

Every Second, Fourth Saturday at noon for 30m

Union St, Chorley

A simple and informal baptism service. To fix a baptism please call Sue in the Parish Office on 01257 231360

Baptism/Christening
Friday

Book of Common Prayer Holy Eucharist

Every Friday at 12:15 p.m. for 30m

Union St, Chorley

A said service using the traditional language of the 1662 Book of Common Prayer.

Book of Common Prayer
Monday

Open Table (take-away)

Every Monday at 5 p.m. for 30m

Union St, Chorley

Every Monday evening at 1700 we provide a free meal and friendship to any who are in need.

We do not charge for this and we are grateful to a large number of people who prepare, cook and serve food week by week. If you, or someone you know, would like to come along, we would love to see you. For further information, please contact Betty Kelly on 01257 279983.

Meal Refreshments Family Friendly Homeless outreach Social action project Voluntary group
Tuesday

Communion for the Community

Every Tuesday at 12:15 p.m. for 30m

Union St, Chorley

A said service of Holy Communion lasting just under 30 minutes in which we pray for our local councillors and elected civic officers.

View attachment

Live stream
Thursday

Healing Eucharist

Every Thursday at 6:15 p.m. for 30m

Union St, Chorley

A celebration of the Holy Eucharist with prayers for healing and wholeness. We are invited to receive spiritual anointing and prayer requests may be left in a basket by the altar step.

View attachment

Healing Prayers Eucharist/Holy Communion
Monday

Mass for Mission

Every Monday at 12:15 p.m. for 30m

Union St, Chorley

A 30-minute service of Holy Communion praying for the mission of our parish in a new context.

View attachment

Saturday

All Age Eucharist

Every Saturday at 5 p.m. for 45m

Union St, Chorley

All Age Eucharist with children's talk. The music at these services will generally be contemporary (although no congregation singing can yet take place). As there is no creche, please feel free to bring along soft toys for the very little ones. You may also wish to download the weekly children's sheets and bring along crayons for them too!

Parents and toddlers
Tuesday

Zoom Bible Study

Every Tuesday at 6 p.m. for 40m

Union St, Chorley

This lasts approximately 40 minutes and focusses on the set Sunday Gospel. To join please email [email protected]

Bible Sunday Bible study
Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday

Taste Cafe

Every Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday at 11 a.m. for 3hr

Union St, Chorley

Our "pay what you can" cafe is inspired by a verse from Psalm 34: Taste and see that the Lord is good. All are welcome to come and enjoy good quality food and coffee (each day we have home made soup and home baked cakes) as well as friendship and fellowship. All are welcome and none are excluded.

Coffee morning Community event Community group Debt advice Homeless outreach Mental health support Money advice Social action project
Sunday

Online Parish Eucharist

Every Sunday at 10 a.m. for 1hr

Union St, Chorley

The main act of worship for the family of all ages. The Eucharist (or Holy Communion, or Mass) is at the heart of our community life. We are people who seek to be blessed, broken and distributed for God's mission in the world.

Recorded service
Sunday

All Age Eucharist

Every Sunday at 9 a.m. for 45m

Union St, Chorley

All Age Eucharist with children's talk. The music at these services will generally be contemporary (although no congregation singing can yet take place). As there is no creche, please feel free to bring along soft toys for the very little ones. You may also wish to download the weekly children's sheets and bring along crayons for them too!

Parents and toddlers

Cathedral Classics

In April, May, June, July, September, October. Every First Saturday at noon for 1hr

Union St, Chorley

A series of organ recitals given by some of the country's most eminent organists and hosted by the Friends of St Laurence's.

Music Organ
Saturday Tuesday Thursday Friday

Online Art Exhibition - Upper Room Gallery

Saturday 25 April 2020, Tuesday 28 April 2020, Thursday 30 April 2020, Friday 01 May 2020, Saturday 02 May 2020, Tuesday 05 May 2020, Thursday 07 May 2020, Friday 08 May 2020, Saturday 09 May 2020, Tuesday 12 May 2020, Thursday 14 May 2020, Friday 15 May 2020, Saturday 16 May 2020, Tuesday 19 May 2020, Thursday 21 May 2020, Friday 22 May 2020, Saturday 23 May 2020, Tuesday 26 May 2020, Thursday 28 May 2020, Friday 29 May 2020, Saturday 30 May 2020, Tuesday 02 June 2020, Thursday 04 June 2020, Friday 05 June 2020, Saturday 06 June 2020, Tuesday 09 June 2020, Thursday 11 June 2020, Friday 12 June 2020, Saturday 13 June 2020, Tuesday 16 June 2020, Thursday 18 June 2020, Friday 19 June 2020, Saturday 20 June 2020, Tuesday 23 June 2020, Thursday 25 June 2020, Friday 26 June 2020, Saturday 27 June 2020 at 10 a.m. for 3hr

https://www.stlaurencechorley.co.uk/art-gallery/
St. Laurence's Church
PR7 1EB
United Kingdom

Exhibition by Zak Last Contemporary Artist. Zak is a contemporary artist based in Lancashire, England, working predominantly with oil paints onto canvas or canvas paper. His oil on canvas paintings are bespoke hand built, using solid pine frames, with a cotton canvas stretched around the frames. This initial exhibition is officially opened by Sir Lindsay Hoyle, MP for Chorley and Speaker of the House of Commons.

Sunday

Holy Eucharist

Every Sunday at 11 a.m. for 45m

Union St, Chorley

Holy Eucharist with Sermon. The music at this service will generally be traditional (although no congregation singing can yet take place). This service will also include a time of reflection.

Music Choir Organ