Church of England Diocese of Truro Tremaine

Bible readings for December 2020 and January 2021

26 Nov 2020, 4:15 p.m.

Sunday, 6th December 2020 (2nd of Advent) 

Old Testament Isaiah 40:1-11

New Testament 2 Peter 3:8-15a

Gospel Mark 1:1-8

Sunday, 13th December (3rd of Advent) 

Old Testament Isaiah 61:1-4,8 to the end

New Testament 1 Thessalonians 5:16-24

Gospel John 1:6-8,19-28

Sunday, 20th December (4th of Advent) Purple

Old Testament 2 Samuel 7:1-11,16

New Testament Romans 16:25 to the end

Gospel Luke 1:26-38

Sunday, 27th December (St John, Apostle & 2st of Christmas 

Old Testament Exodus 33:7-11a or Isaiah 61:10-62:3

New Testament 1 John 1 or Galatians 4:4-7

Gospel John 21:19b to the end or Luke 2:15-21

Sunday, 3rd January 2021 (2nd of Christmas) 

Old Testament Jeremiah 31:7-14

New Testament Ephesians 1:3-14

Gospel John 1:10-18

Sunday, 10th January (Baptism of Christ) 

Old Testament Genesis 1:1-5

New Testament Acts 19:1-8

Gospel Mark 1:4-11

Sunday, 17th January (2nd of Epiphany) 

Old Testament 1 Samuel 3:1-10

New Testament Revelation 5:1-10

Gospel John 1:43 to the end

Sunday, 24th January (3rd of Epiphany) 

Old Testament Genesis 14:;17-20

New Testament Revelation 19:6-10

Gospel John 2:1-11

Sunday, 31st January (4th of Epiphany)

Old Testament Deuteronomy 18:15-20

New Testament Revelation 12:1-5a

Gospel Mark 1:21-28

Sunday, 7th February (2nd before Lent) 

Old Testament Proverbs 8:1,22-31

New Testament Colossians 1:15-20

Gospel John 1:1-14