Church of England Diocese of Blackburn St. Lawrence, Chorley

These events occur regularly throughout the calendar year.

All Together Online Service

In February, March, April, May, June, September, October, November, December. Every Second Sunday at 10 a.m. for 55m

Union St, Chorley

Our monthly all-age Parade and Family Service. This currently takes place online Young people play a very prominent part in the liturgy of these services

Recorded service
Sunday

Baptisms (Christenings)

Every Third Sunday at noon for 30m

Union St, Chorley

A simple and informal baptism service. For those who would prefer Baptism within the Family Service at 10am on the Third Sunday of the month that can be arranged. To fix a baptism please come to church any Sunday at 10am and after the service one of the Team will see you to make the arrangements.

Creche
Sunday

Online Book of Common Prayer Holy Eucharist

Every Sunday at 8 a.m. for 30m

Union St, Chorley

A said service using the traditional language of the 1662 Book of Common Prayer.

Recorded service
Monday

Open Table

Every Monday at 5:30 p.m. for 1hr

Union St, Chorley

Every Monday evening, from 17.30-18.30 we open our doors, offering a free meal and friendship to any who are in need.

All are welcome and it is a safe an friendly environment in which to meet people and find support and friendship. We do not charge for this and we are grateful to a large number of people who prepare, cook and serve food week by week. If you, or someone you know, would like to come along, we would love to see you. For further information, please contact Betty Kelly on 01257 279983.

Refreshments Family Friendly Meal Homeless outreach Social action project Voluntary group
Tuesday Friday

Holy Eucharist

Every Tuesday, Friday at 12:15 p.m. for 30m

Union St, Chorley

A said service of Holy Communion lasting just under 30 minutes.

Live stream
Monday Thursday

Holy Eucharist

Every Monday, Thursday at 6:45 p.m. for 30m

Union St, Chorley

A said service of Holy Communion lasting just under 30 minutes.

Recorded service
Thursday

Bell ringing

Every Thursday at 7:30 p.m. for 1hr

Union St, Chorley

St Laurence’s bell ringers ring both in St Laurence’s tower and other churches across Lancashire. Chorley Parish church was the founding church of the Lancashire Association of Changeringers in 1876 If you have ever wondered about this calling ministry of the church, we always welcome new members. Please contact us and we will “show you the ropes!”. For more information about bell ringing, contact the Tower Captain, David Thistlethwaite on 01257 271904

Tower Tours Bellringing
Sunday

Sunday School

Every Sunday at 10 a.m. for 1hr

Union St, Chorley

Sunday School meets during the 10am Eucharist during term times and is open to children from 3-10 years old. We have Scramblers, Climbers and Explorers. We explore a Bible Story through different activities and consider what it may show us about God or how it can help us live our lives. At the beginning of the service, the children are invited to come forward to the Altar step where the priest gives a brief introduction to the theme of the day. The children then leave as music is sung and they go to their classes.
The children later return to church and come up for a blessing or to receive Holy Communion. Sometimes they tell us about the work they have been doing! On the second week of the month we hold an Family (Altogether) Eucharist, with a service more tailored towards families and children, where the children can sit with their parents and worship as a family. To find our more, please contact the Sunday School Team Leader, Michelle Wareham, on 07970 559853.

Sunday School / Organised Children's Activities
Thursday

Mothers' Union

Thursday 06 February 2020, Thursday 20 February 2020, Thursday 05 March 2020, Thursday 19 March 2020, Thursday 02 April 2020, Thursday 16 April 2020, Thursday 07 May 2020, Thursday 21 May 2020, Thursday 04 June 2020, Thursday 18 June 2020, Thursday 02 July 2020, Thursday 16 July 2020, Thursday 03 September 2020, Thursday 17 September 2020, Thursday 01 October 2020, Thursday 15 October 2020, Thursday 05 November 2020, Thursday 19 November 2020, Thursday 03 December 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

Union St, Chorley

Mothers Union is an international Christian membership charity that aims to demonstrate the Christian faith in action through the transformation of communities worldwide. It works with people of all faiths and none in 83 countries to promote stable marriage, family life and the protection of children through praying, enabling and in lots of practical ways. The Mothers’ Union at St. Laurence’s meets every two weeks on the first and third Thursdays at 19.45—if you would like more information please contact Jean Fishwick on 01257 263658 or Pat Sherwood on 01257 415542.

Mothers Union Women's group

Men's Fellowship

In January, February, March, May, June, July, September, October, November. Every Second Thursday at 7:30 p.m. for 1hr 30m

Union St, Chorley

This group meets monthly, on the second Thursday of the month, at 7pm. The meetings are a mix of talks by outside speakers and occasional games evenings. All are welcome.

Men's group
Sunday

Light Classics Recitals

Sunday 23 February 2020, Sunday 08 March 2020, Sunday 22 March 2020, Sunday 10 May 2020, Sunday 24 May 2020, Sunday 14 June 2020, Sunday 28 June 2020, Sunday 12 July 2020, Sunday 26 July 2020, Sunday 13 September 2020, Sunday 27 September 2020, Sunday 11 October 2020, Sunday 25 October 2020, Sunday 08 November 2020, Sunday 22 November 2020, Sunday 13 December 2020 at 3 p.m. for 45m

Union St, Chorley

A programme of approximately 45 minutes, followed by tea and cake. A wide variety of performers from vocal, keyboard, brass quintet, wind trio, classical guitar and string quartets. The majority of the music would be classed as light classical or 'easy listening'.

Music Refreshments served Concert
Tuesday

Standish Stitchers

Every Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. for 2hr 30m

Union St, Chorley

The Standish Stitchers are Arts and Crafts enthusiasts who meet on Tuesday evenings, from 6.30pm, at St Laurence, Chorley, Lancashire. We are an Affinity Group of the Friends of St Laurence Church, Chorley. Everyone is welcome so come and share your interests with us.

Community group

Pathfinders

In January, February, March, May, June, July, September, October, November, December. Every Second Sunday at 6 p.m. for 2hr

Union St, Chorley

Pathfinders meets on the 2nd Sunday evening of each month at 18.00 in term time. Pathfinders welcomes children aged 11 onwards. During the course of the evening we have fun by playing games, focussing on a theme and enjoying some food together. To find our more, please contact Michelle Wareham, on 07970 559853.

Youth Group Youth work
Sunday

Online Parish Eucharist

Every First, Third, Fourth, Fifth Sunday at 10 a.m. for 1hr

Union St, Chorley

The main act of worship for the family of all ages. The Eucharist (or Holy Communion, or Mass) is at the heart of our community life. We are people who seek to be blessed, broken and distributed for God's mission in the world.

Recorded service

Little Explorers

In January, February, March, May, June, July, September, October, November, December. Every Second Tuesday at 9:15 a.m. for 1hr

St. Laurence's C of E Primary School
Highfield Road South,
Chorley
PR7 1RB

Our Little Explorers meet every second Tuesday of the month at 09.15 in St. Laurence’s School in term-time. This group is open to parents and carers of children in school with younger siblings and also members of the wider community. There’s a chance for the little ones to join in some activities, hear a story and say a prayer. There’s coffee and biscuits for the grown-ups too! Do please come along. For more information please call our parish office on 01257 231360 or speak to Kathy Bentley on 01257 278848

Sunday School / Organised Children's Activities Parents and toddlers Playgroup
Sunday

Church Music Practice

Every Sunday at 9:15 a.m. for 30m

Union St, Chorley

We have a choir and a music group who help to lead the worship the 10.00 Sung Eucharist each Sunday, and once a month on a Sunday evening there is Choral Evensong with a choir drawn from the churches in Chorley. There are other special services throughout the where congregation members join with the choir on an ad hoc basis. Regular practices are on Sunday mornings at 09.15 and new members are always welcome. For more information, contact our Director of Music, Alan Winstanley, on 01257 241995

Music Hymns Choir Singing Choral Evensong Worship band Organ
Tuesday

Alpha

Tuesday 14 January 2020, Tuesday 21 January 2020, Tuesday 04 February 2020, Tuesday 11 February 2020, Tuesday 25 February 2020, Tuesday 10 March 2020, Tuesday 17 March 2020, Tuesday 24 March 2020, Tuesday 31 March 2020 at 7 p.m. for 2hr

Union St, Chorley

Alpha is an 11-week course that creates a space where people are excited to bring their friends for a conversation about faith, life and God.

Nurture Courses Alpha course Discipleship course
Tuesday Friday

Refectory Food

Tuesday 18 February 2020, Friday 21 February 2020, Tuesday 25 February 2020, Friday 28 February 2020, Tuesday 03 March 2020, Friday 06 March 2020, Tuesday 10 March 2020, Friday 13 March 2020, Tuesday 17 March 2020, Friday 20 March 2020, Tuesday 24 March 2020, Friday 27 March 2020, Tuesday 31 March 2020, Tuesday 07 April 2020, Tuesday 14 April 2020, Friday 17 April 2020, Tuesday 21 April 2020, Friday 24 April 2020, Tuesday 28 April 2020, Friday 01 May 2020, Tuesday 05 May 2020, Friday 08 May 2020, Tuesday 12 May 2020, Friday 15 May 2020, Tuesday 19 May 2020, Friday 22 May 2020, Tuesday 26 May 2020, Friday 29 May 2020, Tuesday 02 June 2020, Friday 05 June 2020, Tuesday 09 June 2020, Friday 12 June 2020, Tuesday 16 June 2020, Friday 19 June 2020, Tuesday 23 June 2020, Friday 26 June 2020, Tuesday 30 June 2020, Friday 03 July 2020, Tuesday 07 July 2020, Friday 10 July 2020, Tuesday 14 July 2020, Friday 17 July 2020, Tuesday 21 July 2020, Friday 24 July 2020, Tuesday 28 July 2020, Friday 31 July 2020, Tuesday 04 August 2020, Friday 07 August 2020, Tuesday 11 August 2020, Friday 14 August 2020, Tuesday 18 August 2020, Friday 21 August 2020, Tuesday 25 August 2020, Friday 28 August 2020, Tuesday 01 September 2020, Friday 04 September 2020, Tuesday 08 September 2020, Friday 11 September 2020, Tuesday 15 September 2020, Friday 18 September 2020, Tuesday 22 September 2020, Friday 25 September 2020, Tuesday 29 September 2020, Friday 02 October 2020, Tuesday 06 October 2020, Friday 09 October 2020, Tuesday 13 October 2020, Friday 16 October 2020, Tuesday 20 October 2020, Friday 23 October 2020, Tuesday 27 October 2020, Friday 30 October 2020, Tuesday 03 November 2020, Friday 06 November 2020, Tuesday 10 November 2020, Friday 13 November 2020, Tuesday 17 November 2020, Friday 20 November 2020, Tuesday 24 November 2020, Friday 27 November 2020, Tuesday 01 December 2020, Friday 04 December 2020, Tuesday 08 December 2020, Friday 11 December 2020, Tuesday 15 December 2020, Friday 18 December 2020, Tuesday 22 December 2020 at 10 a.m. for 3hr

Union St, Chorley

Our Refectory is open for the sale of refreshments, snacks and lunches on Tuesdays and Fridays from 1000-1300.

Meal Coffee morning Community event

Cathedral Classics

In April, May, June, July, September, October. Every First Saturday at noon for 1hr

Union St, Chorley

A series of organ recitals given by some of the country's most eminent organists and hosted by the Friends of St Laurence's.

Music Organ
Saturday Tuesday Thursday Friday

Online Art Exhibition - Upper Room Gallery

Saturday 25 April 2020, Tuesday 28 April 2020, Thursday 30 April 2020, Friday 01 May 2020, Saturday 02 May 2020, Tuesday 05 May 2020, Thursday 07 May 2020, Friday 08 May 2020, Saturday 09 May 2020, Tuesday 12 May 2020, Thursday 14 May 2020, Friday 15 May 2020, Saturday 16 May 2020, Tuesday 19 May 2020, Thursday 21 May 2020, Friday 22 May 2020, Saturday 23 May 2020, Tuesday 26 May 2020, Thursday 28 May 2020, Friday 29 May 2020, Saturday 30 May 2020, Tuesday 02 June 2020, Thursday 04 June 2020, Friday 05 June 2020, Saturday 06 June 2020, Tuesday 09 June 2020, Thursday 11 June 2020, Friday 12 June 2020, Saturday 13 June 2020, Tuesday 16 June 2020, Thursday 18 June 2020, Friday 19 June 2020, Saturday 20 June 2020, Tuesday 23 June 2020, Thursday 25 June 2020, Friday 26 June 2020, Saturday 27 June 2020 at 10 a.m. for 3hr

https://www.stlaurencechorley.co.uk/art-gallery/
St. Laurence's Church
PR7 1EB
United Kingdom

Exhibition by Zak Last Contemporary Artist. Zak is a contemporary artist based in Lancashire, England, working predominantly with oil paints onto canvas or canvas paper. His oil on canvas paintings are bespoke hand built, using solid pine frames, with a cotton canvas stretched around the frames. This initial exhibition is officially opened by Sir Lindsay Hoyle, MP for Chorley and Speaker of the House of Commons.