Church of England Diocese of Chester

These events occur regularly throughout the calendar year.

Thursday Friday Monday Tuesday Wednesday

Said Evening Prayer

Thursday 25 June 2020, Friday 26 June 2020, Monday 29 June 2020, Tuesday 30 June 2020, Wednesday 01 July 2020, Thursday 02 July 2020, Friday 03 July 2020, Monday 13 July 2020, Thursday 16 July 2020, Friday 17 July 2020, Monday 20 July 2020, Tuesday 21 July 2020, Wednesday 22 July 2020, Thursday 23 July 2020, Friday 24 July 2020, Monday 27 July 2020, Tuesday 28 July 2020, Wednesday 29 July 2020, Thursday 30 July 2020, Friday 31 July 2020 at 5:30 p.m. for 30m

St Werburgh Street
Chester

Add to my calendar

If you wish to join Chester Cathedral at prayer, 5:30pm on weekdays, please email [email protected] to register. Simply type in the Subject field, "Register for Evening Prayer" and you will receive an emailed link each day. To unregister do the same but in the Subject field, "Unregister for Evening Prayer".

Alternatively, watch a recording of our Evening Prayer on our YouTube channel.

Evening Worship/Prayer
Sunday Thursday Friday Saturday Monday Tuesday Wednesday

Leaves of the Trees

Thursday 03 December 2020, Friday 04 December 2020, Saturday 05 December 2020, Sunday 06 December 2020, Monday 07 December 2020, Tuesday 08 December 2020, Wednesday 09 December 2020, Thursday 10 December 2020, Friday 11 December 2020, Saturday 12 December 2020, Sunday 13 December 2020, Monday 14 December 2020, Tuesday 15 December 2020, Wednesday 16 December 2020, Thursday 17 December 2020, Friday 18 December 2020, Saturday 19 December 2020, Sunday 20 December 2020, Tuesday 22 December 2020, Wednesday 23 December 2020, Thursday 24 December 2020, Saturday 26 December 2020, Sunday 27 December 2020, Monday 28 December 2020, Tuesday 29 December 2020, Wednesday 30 December 2020, Thursday 31 December 2020, Friday 01 January 2021, Saturday 02 January 2021, Sunday 03 January 2021 at 11 a.m.

St Werburgh Street
Chester

Add to my calendar

Designed as a reflective memorial to the coronavirus pandemic, this installation by sculptor Peter Walker is made up of 5,000 steel leaves laid out like fallen autumn leaves; appearing as though naturally scattered by the wind, the leaves symbolise the past and what has transpired. The Leaves of the Trees is presented as part of the Cathedral's Christmas Tree Festival.

The Leaves of the Trees is sponsored by the Eaton Estate, a part of the Grosvenor Estate.

Christmas Advent Healing Family Friendly Event held in a Cathedral
Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday

Christmas Tree Festival

Thursday 03 December 2020, Friday 04 December 2020, Saturday 05 December 2020, Sunday 06 December 2020, Monday 07 December 2020, Tuesday 08 December 2020, Wednesday 09 December 2020, Thursday 10 December 2020, Friday 11 December 2020, Saturday 12 December 2020, Sunday 13 December 2020, Monday 14 December 2020, Tuesday 15 December 2020, Wednesday 16 December 2020, Thursday 17 December 2020, Friday 18 December 2020, Saturday 19 December 2020, Sunday 20 December 2020, Tuesday 22 December 2020, Wednesday 23 December 2020, Thursday 24 December 2020, Saturday 26 December 2020, Sunday 27 December 2020, Monday 28 December 2020, Tuesday 29 December 2020, Wednesday 30 December 2020, Thursday 31 December 2020, Friday 01 January 2021, Saturday 02 January 2021, Sunday 03 January 2021 at 11 a.m.

St Werburgh Street
Chester

Add to my calendar

The Chester Cathedral Christmas Tree Festival returns for its eighth fabulous year in 2020

The trees will be spread across the Cathedral this year to allow plenty of space for social distancing and exploring the whole building! We’re investing so much in the Festival this year to make it extra-special, there is a nominal entry fee of £2.50 for adults, whilst children go FREE. We’ve also got some starry, starry additions to this year’s festival!

We encourage you to book in advance to ensure your entry on your chosen day. Christmas is not cancelled at your Cathedral!

Christmas Advent Comfort And Joy Christmas Eve Ticketed Event Family Friendly Event held in a Cathedral
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday

Starry Starry Night at Chester Cathedral

Thursday 03 December 2020, Friday 04 December 2020, Saturday 05 December 2020, Sunday 06 December 2020, Monday 07 December 2020, Tuesday 08 December 2020, Wednesday 09 December 2020, Thursday 10 December 2020, Friday 11 December 2020, Saturday 12 December 2020, Sunday 13 December 2020, Monday 14 December 2020, Tuesday 15 December 2020, Wednesday 16 December 2020, Thursday 17 December 2020, Friday 18 December 2020, Saturday 19 December 2020, Sunday 20 December 2020, Tuesday 22 December 2020, Wednesday 23 December 2020, Thursday 24 December 2020, Monday 28 December 2020, Tuesday 29 December 2020, Wednesday 30 December 2020, Thursday 31 December 2020, Friday 01 January 2021, Saturday 02 January 2021, Sunday 03 January 2021, Monday 04 January 2021, Tuesday 05 January 2021, Wednesday 06 January 2021, Thursday 07 January 2021, Friday 08 January 2021, Saturday 09 January 2021, Sunday 10 January 2021, Monday 11 January 2021, Tuesday 12 January 2021, Wednesday 13 January 2021, Thursday 14 January 2021, Friday 15 January 2021, Saturday 16 January 2021, Sunday 17 January 2021, Monday 18 January 2021, Tuesday 19 January 2021, Wednesday 20 January 2021, Thursday 21 January 2021, Friday 22 January 2021, Saturday 23 January 2021, Sunday 24 January 2021, Monday 25 January 2021, Tuesday 26 January 2021, Wednesday 27 January 2021, Thursday 28 January 2021, Friday 29 January 2021, Saturday 30 January 2021, Sunday 31 January 2021, Monday 01 February 2021, Tuesday 02 February 2021, Wednesday 03 February 2021, Thursday 04 February 2021, Friday 05 February 2021, Saturday 06 February 2021 at 11 a.m.

St Werburgh Street
Chester

Add to my calendar

Discover a magnificent art installation by Peter Walker, designed as a stunning visual interpretation of the Star of Bethlehem at Chester Cathedral during our Christmas Tree Festival.

The installation, ‘Starry Starry Night’ depicts a constellation of stars that are individually suspended from hundreds of gold and silver ribbons, creating a beautiful and moving installation within the crossing of the Cathedral.

Starry Starry Night symbolises the night sky with the one star, the star of Bethlehem, suspended in the centre of the installation as a symbol of hope and light for all to see. Beautifully and gently lit, Starry Starry Night is at the centre of the Cathedral during our Christmas Tree Festival. The central star is between hundreds of other creating a constellation of much smaller starts around it

Peter Walker says “At the end of a dark and difficult year, ‘Starry Starry Night’ is designed to allow us to recall the journey of the Magi, and the hope that was found in the stars to lead them on their journey. At this time, in this year, the symbolism of the star of hope, a star of wonder is ever more powerful. I hope that people will enjoy their Christmas journey through the Cathedral and take a moment to stand and wonder”.

Starry Starry Night is a part of Chester Cathedral's Christmas Tree Festival.

Epiphany Christmas Advent Comfort And Joy Christmas Eve Ticketed Event Family Friendly Event held in a Cathedral