Church of England Diocese of Bath & Wells Frome Selwood

About Us

We strive to be a welcoming and inclusive church. We are part of the Inclusive Church network of churches.

We aim to be open daily from 9.30am to 3.30pm and are part of the Major Churches Network.

Visitors will find an actively used building which has a rich inheritance: Founded by St Aldhelm the Saxon church which survived until the C12 was a substantial stone structure. The Norman replacement, under the control of Cirencester Abbey, was extended to reach the present size (some 1100 sq m) by the early C15.
On his death in 1711 Bishop Thomas Ken was laid to rest in the churchyard here against the Chancel wall. The medieval chapel of St Andrew was restored in his honour in 1844 and is now dedicated in his name.
Having become a dark pulpit centred, box-pewed church much neglected by its vicars the C19 saw a massive restoration and transformation by Revd W J E Bennett. The Anglo-Catholic enrichment of the building and its worship includes work by O'Connor, Clayton & Bell, Kempe, Forsyth, Wailes and others.
The external Via Crucis approach from the North East to the church is unique.