Church of England Diocese of Bristol Box

Opening

We were unable to provide opening hours. Please contact the Church for more information

01225 744458

Getting here

The Pilgrims’ Chapel at Chapel Plaister is a tiny but unique part of our national heritage. It dates back to the 13th Century and stands beside what in previous times was the principal route to the south west, and on a main route for pilgrims travelling to Glastonbury to pay homage at the shrine of Joseph of Arimethea.

This chapel would have provided a road side haven for the weary pilgrims lending shelter and a place to worship.

After the Reformation the chapel building was used as a store for beer by the public house next door, a highwayman hid from the authorities within its walls, farm animals have been housed here and after a floorhad been laid it became the home of several families over the years.  It was restored back to a place of worship in 1893, with a more recent and comprehensive restoration, taking place in 1999.

Chapel Plaister stands within the bounds of the former parish of Hazelbury, whose parish church has long since been demolished and encompassed into the parish of Box

 

The chapel is usually open on Wednesday afternoons in the summer.

Further detail can be found on web pages such as Wikipaedia and English Heritage

There is parking on grass on the north side of the chapel. 

 

Bradford Road
Box
SN138HZ

If you'd prefer to navigate using Google Maps please use the button below