The Parish Church of St. James the Great, Gawsworth.
The walls of the Nave were built of limestone in 1430 and the Chancel and Tower of pink sandstone in 1480. The splendid roofs are five hundred years old - the Nave roof, barrel beam in design and unique in this Diocese, shows considerable traces of its original brilliant colouring and gilt. The Chancel roof, arch camber beam in construction and with rare panelled sections with tie beams, was never painted but both roofs are of exceptional beauty of design and in excellent condition.
Previously a Norman Chapel stood on this site, probably resembling the chapel which now stands in the churchyard at Prestbury.
For times and information about services please see : -
Web site: https://www.gawsworthchurch.co.uk