The first parish priest was appointed to the Chapel in Heage in 1343. This chapel was ruined by a terrific gale in 1545 and it was over a 100 years before restoration was considered, the work being completed in 1661
The Chapel was enlarged in1836 creating an unusual T-shaped building. This shape of building was recommended for protestant worship from early times but rarely adopted, and is almost certainly unique in Derbyshire.
Services are held weekly in a traditional form and in a more contemporary manner; coffee is served after most 9.30am morning worship services.