The Parish Church of All Saints' Hartford was originally built in 1180, on the site of a Roman watch tower, in its picturesque setting on the banks of the River Ouse. The walls are of pebble and stone rubble with stone dressings, and tiled roofs. Much rebuilding has been done especially in 1861 and 1895. Christian worship in the village can be traced back even earlier to 1086, when the Domesday Book records a simple wooden church, which was probably situated in the old vicarage garden. A further extension was completed in 2003 to add reception and heating facilities at the church.