Church of England Diocese of Gloucester Bibury with Winson and Barnsley

About Us

 

TO SEE 

Saxon gravestone,  12th century glass window,  Norman doorway arches,  13th century font,  Saxon chancel columns and capitals,  15th century roof,  17th century table tombs, 18th century wall monuments,  20th century stained glass window by Karl Parsons.                                                                                                                                               St Mary's church is a Grade I listed building and a gem among Cotswold churches. We do not know when the first church was built at Bibury, but it was probably shortly after Bishop Wilfrith of Worcester granted the estate to Earl Leppas and his daughter Beaga (721 - 743 AD). The village became known as Beagan-byrig, or Beaga's enclosure. Over centuries the name was gradually corrupted into its current form of Bibury.  There was certainly a church here at the time of the Domesday Book in 1086, when the manor and church were owned by St Mary's Priory in Worcester. In 1130 the estate passed to Osney Abbey, near Oxford. It remained in Osney's hands until the Dissolution of the Monasteries.

At Bibury we have three regular services a month at 11.00am, Eucharist on the first and second Sundays, and Morning Prayer on the 4th Sunday. We occasionally have a 3rd Sunday service but there is always a service at Winson on the third Sunday at 9.30am and at Barnsley at 11.00am. 5th Sundays are joint benefice services with Winson and Barnsley and tend to be held at different venues.

Bibury is a popular wedding venue - if you would like to explore the possibility of being married in our lovely church please contact our wedding co-ordinator Dr Val Smith - [email protected]

FOR CURRENT SERVICE TIMES SEE GRID FOR RELEVANT MONTH ON VIEW AT: http://www.biburyvillage.uk/documents/archived/vl1706.pdf

Sorry you will need to copy/paste!