It is not known when a church was first built on this site, but we can go back as far as William the Conqueror, as mention of a church is made in the Domesday book.
The current building has stood proudly atop the hill since the mid 1300's.
Outstanding features are the graceful and lofty arches in the Nave and the 16 large clerestory windows.
In 1846 the nave roof was destroyed by a storm and was replaced with the current splendid roof, boasting carved bosses and ten wooden angel figures.
There are many richly carved items within the church including a pulpit, reading chairs, oak lecturn, and many of the pews are decorated with 15th century carved poppy-head bench heads, depicting animals, birds, flora and fauna. Also a unique wooden screen is carved with the names of former Rectors, Churchwardens and Parish clerks, the earliest dating from 1224.
The stone font located at the back of the nave is very old, and some have thought it might have been here in the earlier church.
In the South aisle there is a stone effigy of a recumbant knight, and it is thought to represent Henry de Halton, from about the year 1350. Alongside that has been placed an ancient burial slab and the writings, when translated, read "Here lies Sir Walter de Bec on whose soul may God have mercy", probably dated around 1250 A.D. It is thought this slab is the oldest of any kind in the neighbourhood.