The delightful small greenstone church was almost completely rebuilt in 1855 by public subscription (and at his own expense) the Revd. Robert Wentworth Cracroft commissioned the architect S.S. Teulon to replace the former place of worship here for £1000.
The role of the Victorian re-builders is seen in many Lincolnshire churches. We are particularly fortunate in their care for the monuments and memorials here today. These combined with early records of life at Harrington, give fascinating glimpses of former days and help us to enjoy today's church.
Although much restored, the original tower arch remains to support 3 bells, which were restored to full ringing order for the millennium, and a tingtang (a small calling bell) which is dated to 1814.
The bowl of the octagonal 15th century font has interesting coats of arms and strange supporting figures.
In 1334 John de Harrington founded a chantry here, whereby the chaplain and his assistant were enabled to support themselves and pray daily for the souls of their founder and his family. They also assisted the Rector with services on Sundays and Holy Days.
The church registers date from 1697 and are stored in the Lincolnshire Archives Office.
Many changes have taken place here over the years. Just over 100 years ago the population of the village was 123 souls - now there are only 40 or so.