Church of England Diocese of Portsmouth St. Thomas of Canterbury, Portsmouth

About Us

Portsmouth Cathedral is the mother church of The Diocese of Portsmouth and the base for the Bishop of Portsmouth. We host many important diocesan events: confirmation services, ordinations of new ministers, and diocesan-wide celebrations.

The Diocese of Portsmouth is one of 41 dioceses in the Church of England. It consists of 172 churches in 139 parishes in south-east Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. The diocese covers 408 square kilometres and has a population of 766,000. It has very diverse communities ranging from densely-populated city and coastal areas to some very rural places.

The Right Reverend Christopher Foster is the ninth Bishop of Portsmouth and is a member of the House of Lords.