The ancient parish church of St. Mary, Riccall is closely bound to village history. A Viking fleet advanced up the river Ouse, disembarked and made their base at Riccall prior to the battle of Stamford Bridge. The Norman Conquest followed and within about 40 years there is evidence of the older Saxon Church being replaced by a Norman building. It is built of local Tadcaster magnesium limestone and the presence of a church is mentioned in the Domesday Book. The most treasured feature is a beautiful doorway (dated 1160 AD), the arch of which has four bands of richly carved figures and symbols - with some beakheads displaying a Viking influence. A low three stage tower was added in 1180 AD - the belfry has four Norman double window openings. The church is still a gem at the hub of village life today.
Our normal pattern of worship is:
First three Sundays 9.00 and fourth Sunday 10.30 (joint with the Methodists)
First and Third Tuesdays of every month 10.30 Tots and Teds for carers and their charges.