About Us

Set in a quiet and picturesque corner, away from the village centre, St Mary’s (which lost its square tower c.1770) has a distinctive wooden bell-turret and shingled spire, of 1878, when the church was enlarged

& partially rebuilt to the designs of William Bassett-Smith. Much of the north nave wall is ancient and maybe 900 years old. The 14C north doorway has a mediaeval door and an adjacent holy water stoup. The mediaeval south door (with a sanctuary-ring) is re-set in the porch of 1968.

The arcade and chancel arch, the roofs of redwood-deal and most of the furnishings form a Gothic Revival period-piece of 1878, but Bucklesham babes have been baptised in the battered old font for six centuries. A fragment of its predecessor’s bowl (on the south-west windowsill) may be 300 years old.