St Mary's Church, Whitkirk is an attractive grade 1 listed building in East Leeds. It is a prominent landmark and is usually floodlit at night. The engineer John Smeaton, who built the third Eddistone lighthouse in 1759, is buried just behind the main altar.
Vicars can be traced back to 1185, but there was probably a church before that. The present building is predominately from the 14th and 15th centuries, with later additions and alterations throughout its history.
Today it is home to a vibrant Church community and is well used by all sections of people from the locality.
The church is situated on the corner of the B6159, formerly A63, Selby Road and Colton Road, Whitkirk.
For details of special events and services please see the Church's website at whitkirkchurch.org.uk.