St. James' congregation gives a warm welcome both to those who live in the small village of Tong, and to others in the local area. Our main Sunday worship is at 9.30am. All are welcome
The church building is fascinating - for whilst the present building as it stands dates from 1727, there is still evidence of the Norman church of 1140, and of the medieval additions. Earlier remains of a Saxon church were found beneath the present building at the time of a major restoration in 1980.
St. James is a part of the Parish of Tong and Laisterdyke, which includes St. Christopher's Church, Holme Wood and St Mary's Church, Laisterdyke.