St Michael and All Angels, Hubberholme, is one of the most historic and picturesque of all churches in Wharfedale. The farthest church up the dale, it was originally a Forest Chapel of the Norman hunting forest of Langstrothdale Chase, and dates from the 12th century. It is situated on the site of an Anglo-Norse burial ground, and of the original Norman church the tower is still extant. St Michael’s was originally dedicated to the Northumbrian St Oswald, and was given to the monks of Coverham Abbey in 1241.
Of particular note within the church is the rood loft which arrived in the church in 1558, and was probably situated in Coverham Abbey prior to its moving. Only two of these lofts still survive in Yorkshire, the other being at Flamborough on the east coast.
Also of note are the pews, carved by Robert Thompson, the “Mouseman of Kilburn”. Several of his trademark mice can be seen carved in the pews.
The author, J.B. Priestley, described St Michael and All Angels Church as “one of the smallest and most pleasant places in the world”. He has a memorial at the back of the church and his ashes were scattered in the churchyard.