The church was built in 1861 by the Elwes family,
the former landowners, for the estate workers.
The entries in our visitors' book bear good
testament to our policy of leaving it open at all
times. The church, which nestles in the valley
leading down from the A39 to the sea, is
constructed from local stone and the remains of
the quarry is now our car park.