The Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin, a Grade 1 listed building, has been at the heart of parish life for over a thousand years. The oldest part of the structure is the chancel, on the outside north wall of which there is pre-Norman 'blind arcading'. The nave dates from the 13th century and the tower from about 1450. The six bells are rung as regularly as possible. The plasterwork in the chancel is unique. It was designed by Dr Wren, a 17th century rector, whose famous son Christopher was born in the village.