The church is situated within a drystone wall, sections of which have recently been repaired as part of a 'Caring for God's Acre' project. The church itself is entered at the base of the early 14th century tower with its unfinished spire capped with a unique aluminium finial in the 1970s. Herringbone masonry in the nave walls indicates a late Saxon or early Norman date. Inside, the medieval rood screen with its stair survives. In the chancel is a fine piscina and richly decorated tomb recess. The remains of a second piscina may be seen on the south wall of the nave. The Norman font was originally in Burwarton old church. Fragments of wall-paintings survive on the nave walls and are parts of the Ten Commandments. There are several monuments to the Johnstone family in the chancel and also a hatchment for a member of the family above the entrance in the tower. On the north wall of the chance is a delightfully 'rustic' monument to Ralph Graves (died 1630), a former rector. His grandson established two exhibitions at Balliol College, Oxford, for boys attending Ludlow Grammar School and Shrewsbury School. The tower contains three bells made by the Shropshire bell-founder Thomas Clibury of Wellington in the 17th century. They may be rung on application. It is hoped to add a further two or three bells in due course to complete a ring of five or six. Extensive repairs in 2006 were undertaken to the roofs and walls; at the same time the tower floors were replaced and a new drainage system installed.