Church of England Diocese of Hereford Culmington

Opening

We were unable to provide opening hours. Please contact the Church for more information

(01584) 861361

(01584) 841488

Getting here

The church is situated within a drystone wall, sections of which have recently been repaired as part of a 'Caring for God's Acre' project. The church itself is entered at the base of the early 14th century tower with its unfinished spire capped with a unique aluminium finial in the 1970s. Herringbone masonry in the nave walls indicates a late Saxon or early Norman date. Inside, the medieval rood screen with its stair survives. In the chancel is a fine piscina and richly decorated tomb recess. The remains of a second piscina may be seen on the south wall of the nave. The Norman font was originally in Burwarton old church. Fragments of wall-paintings survive on the nave walls and are parts of the Ten Commandments. There are several monuments to the Johnstone family in the chancel and also a hatchment for a member of the family above the entrance in the tower. On the north wall of the chance is a delightfully 'rustic' monument to Ralph Graves (died 1630), a former rector. His grandson established two exhibitions at Balliol College, Oxford, for boys attending Ludlow Grammar School and Shrewsbury School. The tower contains three bells made by the Shropshire bell-founder Thomas Clibury of Wellington in the 17th century. They may be rung on application. It is hoped to add a further two or three bells in due course to complete a ring of five or six. Extensive repairs in 2006 were undertaken to the roofs and walls; at the same time the tower floors were replaced and a new drainage system installed.

Off B4365 5 miles north of Ludlow
Culmington
Ludlow
SY8 2DB

If you'd prefer to navigate using Google Maps please use the button below