Please check service times. Normally 2nd and 4th Sundays (1st and 3rd Sundays at Leck); 5th Sunday in rota across all six churches in the Benefice. Extra Services at Christmas and Easter. Details on www.eastlonsdalebenefice.wordpress.com/churches/#tunstall
A church at Tunstall is recorded in the Domesday Survey but the oldest structure in the present church dates from C.13th. The church was rebuilt around 1415 by Sir Thomas Tunstal. Alterations were made in the C.16th and the church was restored in 1907. In the early C.19th the church was attended by the Brontë sisters during the year they attended the Clergy Daughter's School at nearby Cowan Bridge. There is a special Bronte history display.
A Roman votive stone, probably from the nearby Roman fort at Burrow, has been built into the surround of a window in the north aisle. Under the tower arch is C.18th oval marble font on a sandstone base. The east window contains glass from the Netherlands dating from the late C.15th and 16th. It was donated to the church in 1810 by Richard Toulmin North of nearby Thurland Castle. In the church are a number of memorials to the Fenwick family. The two-manual organ was built in 1923 by Harrison & Harrison, and was restored in summer 2017. There is a set of three fine bells, and we are looking for regular bell ringers.
An imposing painting of The Lamentation of Christ, thought to be by Francesco Montemezzano (1540-1602), school of Veronese, has hung in the church for over 200 years. It featured in the BBC programme 'Fake or Fortune' in July 2015.
There is a large and attractive churchyard, with many historic tombstones. A sandstone pillar has the marks of an old sundial on it, and is probably the remains of a very ancient cross, recognised by the OS; information welcome!
There are stunning views along and across the Lune valley, and east to Ingleborough. The church is a popular wedding venue.