All Saints' Chapel of Ease, Somerford
Somerford, once just a convenient place to cross the River Dane, grew into a township within the ancient parish of Astbury. For many centuries the mother church was St Mary's at Astbury but in 1725, Sir Peter Shakerley of nearby Somerford Hall reputedly fell out with the Rector at St Mary's over the gentry's access to that church. Sir Peter took the matter into his own hands and built All Saints to serve as a domestic chapel for the Hall.
Somerford Hall was demolished in 1926 but All Saints chapel survived and since 1943 it has been a chapel of ease, a Grade II listed, hidden gem within the ecclesiastical parish of Astbury.
The chapel holds afternoon Evensong once a month from May until Harvest Festival at the end of September and, weather permitting, a Christmas Carol service. Summer highlights are occasional outdoor events set in the midst of the lush green Cheshire countryside. The annual Pet Service is a great excuse for a picnic. It is well worth negotiating all the potholes on the long drive off the main road just to experience the peace and timeless ambience of the spot.
St Mary's Astbury and All Saints Chapel of Ease care passionately about the safety of all their church families and visitors. Read how we make provision for safeguarding here.