St John the Baptist church dates from 1857 and is one of a number of churches in the wider area built at the instigation of Thomas Keble, then Vicar of Bisley. With two highly populated adjoining villages, France Lynch and Chalford Hill, he saw the need for a centre of worship here.
Situated on the side of the hill overlooking a picturesque valley, it is a beautiful and peaceful situation. Inside, the fine work in lapis luzuli and malachite on white marble – prominent in and around the chancel, on the choir screen, pulpit and reredos – lifts our church above the ordinary.
St John's still maintains a tradition of involvement with the local community, not least through the nearby Church Rooms (our answer to a village hall). We gladly welcome everyone to our mix of services and aim to provide the community with a centre for fellowship, mission and support, with special services such as our annual All Souls and Carol services