EVERYONE is WELCOME Picture of Church - All Saints Church
The Parish of Long Marston includes the villages of Angram, Hutton Wandesley and Long Marston and is located in the Deanery of New Ainsty. The villages of Long Marston and Hutton Wandesley are mentioned in the Doomsday Book.
All Saints’ Church dates from 1180 with much of its fabric remaining including the main doorway credited to the Norman period, a late Norman Arcade to the North Aisle and original windows. The West Tower, which dates from the 15th Century, contains three bells. Major changes undertaken by the Victorians in 1869 include the East Window, entitled ‘Resurrection’, which is the work of Hardman. The Transept was re-ordered in 2005 to create a multi-functional room that can be used for meetings, display facilities and education resources together with a disabled toilet and small kitchen area. Sir Nikolaus Pevsner described the Church as a ‘significant building’.
The Church is open regularly for worship.
Under the Auspices of All Saints’ – Long Marston Parish History Group, Exhibitions with a specific theme, are held in the Church, usually on the first Saturday of each month between May and October. Details of these openings can be obtained from www.longmarstonhistory.org.uk For many years work has been undertaken to discover and preserve the Archives of the Parish. These Archives together with Census, Parish and other related records will also be on view at the Open Days.
Please click the following links for information covering the Church and Parish on other village web sites
to follow these links left click on the highlighted text and select "open in new window"
Parish Council Web Site - Long Marston Parish Council
Wikipeadia Information - Long Marston Village
Church Heritage Information - (under development) https://facultyonline.churchofengland.org/CHR/ChurchDetails.aspx?id=14725#Home