The parishes of Wimbish and Thunderley became one in1425. Today Thunderley is the northern district of the parish, nearest to Saffron Walden. The name is retained by Thunderley Hall Farm and Thunderley Parsonage. In 1963 a great key, made between 1560 and 1600 and almost certainly that of the church, was ploughed up on the site and hung in this building in a glass case until it was stolen some years later.
The nave was built in the first half the 12th century by the Fitzwalter family. In earlier times a smaller, wooden church would have stood on the site. The nave was constructed of coarse pebbles with dressings of grey limestone and clunch and lengthened probably at the end of the 13th century when the north aisle was added. In the 15th century the chancel was rebuilt and the south porch (through which you entered)added, with its parvise; an upper room used by priests. Traces of original Norman windows can still be seen from the outside.
The church has some interesting historical features, including a unique cross brass, one of a few surviving examples. In its past it had for a while a tower and bells. The tower was removed in 1740 after being destroyed by lightning. There is also a recorded account of a thunderbolt striking the church on a Sunday afternoon during a service. More details can be found by clicking the download button