The church is open most days during daylight hours
St Germans is a village and civil parish in south east Cornwall, England. It stands on the River Tiddy, just upstream of where that river joins the River Lynher; the water way from St Germans to the Hamoaze is also known as St Germans River.
The village is sign posted off the A38 travelling from Saltash to Liskeard.
Welcome to the parish church of St Germans: St Germanus of Auxerre in the Anglican Diocese of Truro and county of Cornwall England.
The memorably picturesque ensemble of church, house and park is of the highest architectural and historic interest.
The present church building in St Germans is the third that has stood on this site. The first was a small Celtic church erected by St Germanus, who visited Britain in A.D. 429. The second church was built by King Athelstane in 936, the year in which he finally conquered the Celts in Cornwall.
The present church was begun in the 12th century, but was not consecrated until 1261. Now, much changed by decay and renovations, it survives as a massive and inspiring building blessed with a wonderful acoustic - so much used for significant religious events and concerts. St Germans church frequently plays host to the East Cornwall Bach Choir.
Please visit our website: www.stgermansparishes.com and find out more information under the St Germans tab.
St Germans Priory
If you'd prefer to navigate using Google Maps please use the button below