Nestled in the heart of Cheadle, St Giles the Abbot church is a beacon of faith and community. As a part of the Parish of Cheadle with Freehay, this vibrant church serves as a spiritual home to its local congregation. With a focus on worship, growth, and inclusivity, St Giles the Abbot invites all to join in its mission of seeking God's will.
St Giles the Abbot in the Past
The current church, designed by architect James Pigott-Pritchett, was consecrated on 12th January 1839, replacing an earlier medieval church from 1349. In 1190, WM Basset, Lord of the Manor, presented Henry De London to be the first Rector of Cheadle. In the 1320s, the Advowson (right of patronage) of Cheadle church was transferred from the Basset family to Michael House Cambridge, and circa 1349, the medieval church at Town End was built. In 1538, King Henry VIII dissolved the monasteries and sold the lands of the church to the laymen nobility of the church and the proceeds, and began to build Trinity College, Cambridge. On the 24th December 1546, the Advowson of St Giles Cheadle was transferred to Trinity College. Somewhere between 1938 and 1941, the Advowson of Cheadle Parish Church was transferred to the Lichfield Board of Patronage, with which it remains today.