St Augustine is an Anglican parish church in southeast London located in the Park of 'One Tree Hill' on Honor Oak Park. At our heart is faith in God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. We seek to grow in knowledge of and obedience to Him. We are committed to the faith, prayer, being open to the Spirit and serving the people of our community in creative ways. We strive to bring people into a living relationship with our Lord through our worship, fellowship and prayer; teaching and pastoral care; reflection and action. We are committed to fostering and nurturing the depth of relationship between God and God's creation and with one another. Everyone is most welcome to come and be a part of shaping our fellowship at St Augustine.
St Augustine is a place to explore faith together. We are located in the nature reserve of One Tree Hill. This gives us a unique opportunity in London to reflect on God’s creation and our place in it. We share the message of compassion and love in a world that is so often hurting and cold. It is the message of the one who came to us with that same love and compassion to strengthen us and encourage us to live life in all its fullness. In this quiet oasis there is room to meditate and reflect, to walk, to pray, to be quiet. Come and share in our fellowship anytime. You are most welcome.
The growth of new houses at the end of the nineteenth century in the Honor Oak area led to a demand for a church, and St Augustine's parish was formed. The architect appointed was William Oakley, a member of the Royal Institute of British Architects, who was to design, "a building which on account of the site and status of the neighbourhood, must of necessity possess some architectural pretensions".
The foundation stone was laid by Mr J G Talbot MP on the 3rd October 1872 and was in use for public worship from 4th June 1873.
It had been intended to consecrate the building on 26th May 1873 [St Augustine's Day], but this was not to be. Although the building was finished in time, about £3000 of the total cost of £5000 was still owing, and the consecration was deferred until 2nd December 1874 by which time the church was out of debt.
The building is Grade 2 listed and there is easy access to nearly all all of the building including toilets and the parish rooms.