Church of England Diocese of Hereford Billingsley

About Us

Billingsley Church was built in around 1140 in the reign of King Stephen. It is Grade II* listed, and the churchyard is home to two ancient yew trees. It has an unusual Jacobean double pulpit, and the font is largely original Norman stonework. The church has an Easter Sepulchre dating from around 1320. The bellcote houses two bells, the north bell dates from the fourteenth century. The south bell is inscribed ‘God Save The Queen A. R. 1707’. The parish register dates back to 1627.

Billingsley church is visited by people from all over the world, some from as far away as New Zealand and Canada. This is often because they are researching their family history, and we are the only place in the country called Billingsley. Other visitors are interested in the village's unique industrial history, as although the area is now very rural, Billingsley was an important mining and industrial centre from the time of the Napoleonic Wars until the early twentieth century. 

Many comments in the visitors' book mention the profound sense of peace and sanctuary from the modern world which is immediately noticeable in Billingsley Church.

Visit our website at http://www.stmarys-billingsley.org.uk/

Also follow us on Twitter: @StMarysB, and facebook: St Mary's Billingsley

Billingsley Church is a member of the Shropshire Churches Tourism Group.

View our page at http://www.discovershropshirechurches.co.uk/south-east-shropshire/billingsley/