Local history about the church, the village and anyone researching their family's past
The church is a Grade 1 listed building and dates back to the 14th Century. It has some fine stain glass windows and many wonderful features. Due to the downfall of Cardinal Wolsey (who was rumoured to be financing the project) the building of the Bell Tower in 1530 was never completed. The Bells were temporarily housed in a wooden Bellcage in the churchyard where they still are today. They are rung regularly, by a unique method, on Sundays and at weddings. (https://www.constablecountrychurches.co.uk/bells-and-bell-cage)
For anyone wanting to research their family or local history, please contact [email protected]
Information on East Bergholt as a village is available through the East Bergholt Society website or through The Hold, Suffolk Archives - home to 900 years of Suffolk's history captured through thousands of documents. Open to anyone wanting to discover the past through nationally and internationally significant collections of local history.