About Us

The history of the church

You can be assured of a warm welcome at the peaceful church of St Eval. It stands almost alone with its 60ft tower visible for miles around, surrounded by the disused runways of RAF St Eval, an important Coastal Command airfield during the second world war.

The church has strong links with the Royal Air Force and there are 21 war graves in the churchyard that are maintained by the War Graves Commission. The contribution of the RAF in helping to preserve this ancient place of worship forms a fascinating chapter in the story of a building which dates back to Norman times, when the church was first built on the site of a Celtic shrine. In 1989, a memorial was dedicated for RAF St Eval, which includes a memorial window and Book of Remembrance. It is very interesting church in an unlikely situation.

Most of the hamlet of Churchtown was demolished to build the airfield.

The church was enlarged in the mid 16th century and there is the remains of a medieval screen and an elaborately carved part of the Rood Screen base. The pulpit has been restored and the date 1638, together with the name of the Minister and Churchwardens can be seen on the base stringers. The Font is very plain and is from Norman times, as is one remaining window in the North wall. There are 23 carved bench-ends dating from the mid 16th century and at the back are three original pews.

The splendid tower, 60ft tall, was built (by Bristol merchants whose seamen used it as a navigation mark) during the summer of 1727, to replace an earlier tower that fell into disrepair in the mid 1600's.