The picturesque village of Litlington lies about a mile from Alfriston, with its tiny Norman Church and the old Rectory. Like so many local place names Litlington is of Saxon origin: 'little-tun' or homestead.
The parish church is dedicated to St. Michael the Archangel. Originally built about 1150 A.D. it was 'restored' in 1863 when the carved oak screen and other interesting features were removed. Outside there is still a 13th century sundial on the porch, and two more on the buttresses. The spire at the West end is covered by wooden shingles and the small tower by weather-boarding.
Inside, there are all kinds of features to interest the historian: A piscina from about 1220, the 15th century Easter sepulchre and double sedilia, Norman and Early English windows. There are three bells, the most ancient cast around 1450 at the Whitechapel Bell Foundry.
The times of Sunday Services can be found on the notice board. Litlington Church is open to visitors daily from 9.00am to 5.00pm or dusk.