In 2018 we were pleased to become part of the Commonwealth War Graves Signage Project, instigated to coincide with the centenary of the first world war, signs are located at both entrances to the churchyard. We have identified 11 war graves, 9 marked by Commonwealth War Graves headstones and the remainder in family graves, all are currently identified by a small bunch of poppies standing by the headstone so they they can be easily found by visitors.
Members of the Westhoughton Local History Group have created a research file giving as much information as they have found on the war dead in these graves, it is available, on request, for study in church, along with a copy of the WW1 war diary of Revd. George H. Ogden.
The Daisy Hill War Memorial is located outside the north door of the church and commemorates the dead of both world wars and recent conflicts. In the church porch / narthex is the Eatock Pit war memorial commemorating the dead of WW1 who worked in the mine, the bronze plaque was transferred to the church from the colliery after it closed in 1934.
Visitors are asked to take care when walking in the churchyard; the ground is uneven and some of the gravestones could be unsafe. Children should be supervised at all times. We regret the visitors explore the churchyard at their own risk.
The first Saturday in each month the church has an Open Doors event when light refreshments and toilet facilities are available to visitors.